Persistent Data

I have struggled with creating a method to keep a few charts near the top of the blog. I would prefer to refer to them rather than constantly post them. It has seemed a bit of a chore to update the data in Excel, screen clip the chart, save to a file, upload the file, and create a post. What if i just want to update the chart?

I think I have found an answer using Tableau Public and Blogger. I will keep my commentary here, but I will post the charts periodically on my Blogger site. Now to update a chart on the blog site, I update the data in Excel and refresh the data in Tableau Public. Done! That seems very convenient and quite easy to accomplish.

For now I have two charts on the Blogger site — employment participation rate and the U.S. 10-year treasury yield. Maybe I will spend some time creating a full dashboard of the CPI, which is from a recent post. For now, the charts will always be visible on Blogger.

Author: dmcnic

Educated as an economist, I now work as an Analytical Professional for a manufacturing firm. I have have a second job as a part-time lecturer at the University of Washington in Bothell. While all baseball interests me, the Mariners are my home town team. Married with one dog.

Leave a Reply

