AOne Tech Squad

I received a text message from my wife on Friday. It appears my mother-in-law was the attempted victim of a phone scam. AOne Tech Squad called identifying themselves as Microsoft employees who noticed a significant number of error messages originating from her computer. They instructed her to run a program on her computer. Her computer is a single core computer running Windows XP and the results were not what they expected. They told her they could fix her computer for only $249.99. With her main source of income being Social Security, she mentioned there was no way she could afford that and she would consult with her son-in-law first.

She was suspicious enough that she did not pass along her credit card number. Her computer was old enough that the program did not successfully launch. She did have difficulty understanding their accent (their being plural since she talked to three separate people) and may have not heard the name of the program correctly.

I did some research and discovered this company installs TeamViewer. It did not sound like they got to that point, but I went to her house for a few hours anyway. MalwareBytes said there was nothing suspicious on her computer and everything except Adobe Reader was up to date.

She seemed interested in getting a new computer so that will give me something to do over the next two weeks. Newegg shopping is one of my favorite activities.

Author: dmcnic

Educated as an economist, I now work as an Analytical Professional for a manufacturing firm. I have have a second job as a part-time lecturer at the University of Washington in Bothell. While all baseball interests me, the Mariners are my home town team. Married with one dog.

Leave a Reply

