Baseball Ideas

It seems to me there is still plenty of analysis to be done with respect to the Seattle Mariners. I have four full years of game data.

I think there are two themes I would like to follow this season. The first is a weekly theme where I highlight one batter. There will need to be a reason for highlighting him, his season to date performance, and a comparison to previous seasons. Runs Created per Game will still be the primary statistic to follow. The second theme will be monthly and will focus on a starting pitcher. The same type of focus where I highlight the reason for the focus, his season to date performance, and a comparison to previous seasons. Game Scores will be the primary statistic to follow.

I liked showing the team’s performance, but breaking the season by series may have been too much detail. This year I would like the focus to be by home stand and road trip. I will need to figure out which statistics to follow, but I imagine it will be runs created and game scores with the comparison between the Mariners and the opposition. I will need to work out how to use the Custom CSS to show the data properly.

Author: dmcnic

Educated as an economist, I now work as an Analytical Professional for a manufacturing firm. I have have a second job as a part-time lecturer at the University of Washington in Bothell. While all baseball interests me, the Mariners are my home town team. Married with one dog.

Leave a Reply

