Start

I thought this road would start with the meeting I attended two weeks ago regarding the Certified Analytics Professional designation. Instead, I think it really begins when I realized that thirty years ago, I was entering college. While that road took from me chemical engineering to computer science to mathematics where I finally matriculated with a Bachelor’s degree, it is a distant land removed from the thirty years that have accumulated on the grey matter. I have become concerned recently that my skills are becoming stale and to combine that with the realization that I am not ready to leave the work force yields the conclusion that an update in my programming was required.

Enter the Certified Analytics Professional designation from informs.org. There are eleven books recommended to successfully pass the exam. Alternatively, there are a number of universities offering an MA/MS in Analytics. A few of us at work have decided the cheaper path is the self-study approach of the CAP. As of today, eight of the eleven books have arrived at my home. My initial fear that I was falling behind has been confirmed by the content of some of these books.

My plan is to post comments about my learning as I move through the books. I stand by my long-held belief in the foundational aspects of reading, writing, and arithmetic. I expect much of the writing I will be doing will be technical so the annotum theme sounds well suited to my purposes. We’ll see how that goes.

In addition, I want to pursue something meaningful on a personal level. While I don’t need another hobby, I have developed a pointed interest in asteroids lately. The recent explosion of an meteor over Siberia combined with the asteroids@home project through the BOIC program plus some information from Planetary Resources all combined to make me think there was plenty of data here to work with at home. Items to explore include lightcurves, spectrometry, and HERA.

This seems plenty for now.

Author: dmcnic

Educated as an economist, I now work as an Analytical Professional for a manufacturing firm. I have have a second job as a part-time lecturer at the University of Washington in Bothell. While all baseball interests me, the Mariners are my home town team. Married with one dog.

Leave a Reply

