Distractions

I do have to confess there is a distraction in my life. I live in one of the greatest places on Earth which is near the wine tasting room area of Woodinville, Washington. While my wife and I have discovered the pleasure of traveling to Walla Walla (and the true wine country of Washington state) twice a year for Spring and Fall release weekends, it is an issue for me with a large array of wine tasting rooms near by. This evening consisted of Patit Creek, Forgeron, Garrison, and Mark Ryan. On a night where I had not planned to buy any wine, I went home with ten bottles. All are going into long-term storage at our locker in Bellevue. According to Cellar Tracker, I am up to 74 bottles in my possession.

My wife prefers wine she can drink everyday. I prefer wines that I can brood over. These need to have depth of character, can stand on their own or work well with food, and be good from the first glass through the evening until the bottle is empty. The wine that meets both of our interests is older Washington state Cabernet Sauvignon. By older, I mean those that stay in the barrel longer than average. There are three labels in Washington state that top my list. For classic cab, the winery of our choice is Col Solare. Neither of us have much interest in Syrah or Merlot, yet the wines from Garrison Creek are among the finest we have ever tasted and that is all they had for sale at Fall release weekend. For big Washington state Cab and Syrah combined with an amazing attention to detail on the art of wine making, we both enjoy nearly everything produced from Rasa Winery.

I used to wax eloquent over the structure of pie, but I find myself contemplating the glory of terroir in wine. I spent this evening in four wine tasting rooms plus split a bottle of wine at dinner and I can sit at my keyboard and bang out almost 500 words about something that is off topic for this blog. Distraction indeed. I suppose time away from book learnin’ will help me re-focus. Or is that a justification? Either way, I expect I will be collecting some thoughts about fermented grapes here. Salút.

Author: dmcnic

Educated as an economist, I now work as an Analytical Professional for a manufacturing firm. I have have a second job as a part-time lecturer at the University of Washington in Bothell. While all baseball interests me, the Mariners are my home town team. Married with one dog.

Leave a Reply

